Eurovision 2019 Cyprus: Who is Tamta? Can she replicate Cyprus success at Eurovision 2018?


The 64th Eurovision Song Contest will take place on Saturday, May 18 and will see 26 countries compete to take home the title and host the competition next year. Some countries are yet to qualify and will take place in the second of two semi-finals on Thursday, May 16. On Tuesday, 10 out of 17 competing countries qualified for the grand final in the first semi-final.

One of the countries to qualify was Cyprus, who is being represented by Tamta and her song Replay.

But who is Tamta?

Tamta Goduadze rose to fame on the 2004 iteration of Super Idol Greece, finishing runner up in the competition.

She went on to become one of the most successful acts after the show releasing three studio albums.

Read More: Eurovision 2019: Sophie Ellis-Bextor pulls out just days before final

Tamta has also starred as a mentor on both X Factor Georgia in 2014 and X Factor Greece in 2016.

She attempted to represent Greece in Eurovision 2007 but did not receive enough votes at the Greek final.

Could Tamta replicate Cyprus’ 2018 Eurovision success?

In 2018, Cyprus finished second when Eleni Foureira performed her song Fuego.

Read More: Eurovision 2019 semi final: Scott Mills cuts off Jade Adams

This was the best that Cyprus has ever done in Eurovision.

Tamta has already competed in the semi-final, securing a place in the grand final alongside nine other countries.

There were 17 that competed in the first semi-final, and Cyprus, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Belarus, Serbia, Australia, Greece and San Marino all qualified.

On Thursday, May 16 there will be the last of the semi-finals in which 18 more countries compete for a place in Saturday’s final.

Read More: Eurovision 2019: Rylan Clark-Neal in awkward gaffe

On Thursday Armenia, Ireland, Moldova, Switzerland, Latvia, Romania, Denmark, Sweden, Austria, Croatia, Malta, Lithuania, Russia, Albania, Norway, The Netherlands, North Macedonia and Azerbaijan will compete.

Out of these, just 10 will continue on to the final to make 26 finalists.

The last of the Eurovision semi-finals will air on BBC Four at 8pm on Thursday, May 16.

The grand final of the Eurovision Song Contest will be broadcast live on BBC One from 8 pm on Saturday, May 18.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here