Holidays: Cyprus bans UK arrivals as panic over new virus strain grows

4 mins read

Usually a popular winter sun hotspot, Cyprus has officially banned all UK arrivals from travelling to the nation. Cypriot authorities have also advised citizens not to travel to the UK unless it is essential.

It is just the latest in a slew of nations to close their borders to UK travellers after Prime Minister Boris Johnson cited a new strain of COVID-19 which is reportedly 70 percent more contagious.

Adding further panic, Health Secretary Matt Hancock stated the virus is “out of control”.

While parts of the UK were slammed into Tier 4 restrictions, the wider world also imposed their own restrictions on Britons, with many banning any transit with the nation.

According to the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO): “On 21 December, the Cypriot authorities publicly advised against all but essential travel to the UK from Cyprus, and a mandatory authority-assigned quarantine of a minimum of seven days for all arrivals into Cyprus from the UK.

READ MORE: Holidays: FCDO latest advice for France, Italy, Spain, & Germany

Those who are permitted to travel to Cyprus must complete a “Cyprus Flight Pass” before travelling.

Furthermore, visitors who have been to the UK in the last 14 days will not be permitted entry to the north of Cyprus. This does not apply to residents.

Britons returning from Cyprus to the UK will be subject to a mandatory period of quarantine.

UK travellers who were due to visit Cyprus are being advised to contact their travel provider to discuss their options.

Cyprus has joined the likes of France, Italy, Spain and Germany who have placed tightened restrictions on Britons.

Outside of the EU, India, Canada, Jamaica and Saudi Arabia are also some of the nations now banning UK travellers.

France has now lifted its total ban on Britons, allowing essential travel as long as arrivals present a negative COVID-19 test.

A new update from the FCDO explained: “France restricted travel from the UK from 24:00 on 20 December.

“This travel restriction applies to air, car, ferry and train passengers. From 24:00 on 22 December, until at least 6 January (subject to a possible review), only the following categories of people will be authorised to travel to France from the UK:

“French nationals and nationals of the European Area

“British and/or third-country nationals who are either permanently resident in France, the European Union or the European Area, or who must travel for certain essential reasons (as specified by the French government).”

It adds: “All travellers from the UK, including children aged 11 and above, will need to present a negative COVID-19 test result, carried out less than 72 hours before departure.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Love Honey Boxing Day sale – Top 10 toys from this saucy sale

Next Story

Twitter Brings More Features for Developers With New Update to API v2

Latest from Blog