THE distraught mom of a six-year-old spanked with a paddle has demanded that the principal’s teaching license be removed.
The girl was filmed being held between two adults as she wept and tried to move away from the paddle – but the Florida’s school head was cleared of any alleged wrongdoing.
The elementary school principal caught on tape hitting the pupil with a paddle has been cleared of any criminal charges, the State Attorney’s Office confirmed on Friday.
An unnamed mother was called to Central Elementary School in Clewiston, Florida last month after officials claimed her daughter allegedly damaged a school computer – and Melissa Carter took it out on her with a paddle.
However, the Florida Attorney’s Office said using a paddle to spank a child does not cause “great bodily harm,” or equal child abuse, according to Wink News.
But this has outraged the mother, who is demanding justice, reports TMZ.
Education bosses are being urged to re-look at the beating, and take the principal’s license away.
The family’s attorney, Brett Probinsky, told the website that the Department of Children and Family Services has recommended that she be banned from teaching – and barred from being around youngsters.
Probinsky also said that the girl’s family was waiting for more details from education bosses, before they decide whether to lodge a lawsuit against the school’s head, alongside her clerk, Cecilia Self, and the school.
The mother was called to the classroom on April 13, and secretly recorded Principal Melissa Carter’s spanking her daughter before sending the video to cops.
Carter and school clerk told police the child’s mom requested they spank her, which Carter did three times with a wooden paddle.
School rules dictate teachers are only allowed to paddle students if the parent is present, the report said.
“It is clear using a paddle to spank a child is not likely to cause death or great bodily harm,” read the state’s report.
The mom claims she was sent to the school to observe the punishment but was “confused” due to a language barrier and “did not understand the process correctly.”
The mom, who does not speak fluent English, claims she was told by the school that her daughter would be getting “paddled” as a punishment.
It’s reported that the mom didn’t know what to do as she was worried that if she intervened she would be in trouble, fearing cops would question her immigration status. She decided to film the incident.
She exclusively told WINK News: “Nobody would have believed me.
“I sacrificed my daughter so all parents can realize what’s happening in this school.”
When she arrived at the school on April 13 to pay a $50 fine, her daughter was in the principal’s office as Ms. Carter reportedly started to scream.
She said: “The hatred with which she hit my daughter. I mean it was a hatred that really I’ve never hit my daughter like she hit her.”
The mom is said to be worried about what psychological harm has been caused to her child following the incident.
Bret Provinsky, the attorney for the mother, told WINK News: “That’s aggravated battery. They’re using a weapon that can cause severe physical harm.”
Hendry County School District policy does not allow corporal punishment.
Procedures that “do not demean students” and “do not tend to violate individual rights” are said to be encouraged.
Carter, nor the school have returned any requests for comment.
Most read in News
Barry Morphew 'spotted with mystery woman' 2 months before 'murder' arrest
Mum charged after daughter, 4, almost killed by headlice infestation
LOT OF LOLLY
Boy, 4, leaves mom with $2,600 Amazon bill after buying 918 SpongeBob treats
'PERFECT FOR SERIAL KILLERS'
Woman reveals creepy CRAWL SPACE above stairwell in her home
Woman confronts ‘creepy’ old man after claiming ‘he took sneaky pics of her’
WHAT A CREEP
Bill Gates 'ended relationship with Epstein after he creeped out Melinda'
Corporal punishment is legal in 19 US states – Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Wyoming.
New Mexico remains the most recent state to ban the practice as legislators narrowly voted to outlaw corporal punishment in 2011.
The state joined 30 other US states that have already banned corporal punishment.