UK tier MAPPED: Leeds and Manchester in Tier 3 as cases soar – what tier is your area in?

5 mins read

Lockdown was implemented in England on November 5, but after four weeks the end is now in sight. From December 2, England will return to the three-tier traffic light system with more areas being moved into higher tiers than seen before lockdown. has compiled a map to show which tier your area belongs in.

Most of England was placed in the two toughest tiers of coronavirus restrictions today.

Health Secretary Matt Hancock set out the plans in the House of Commons on Thursday.

Most areas, including London, were advised they could be in tier two with “significant numbers” in tier three – the highest level.

Earlier this week, Prime Minister Boris Johnson said: “We will continue to bear down hard on this virus.

“We will use tough tiering – in some ways tougher than the pre-lockdown measures and details of those tiers are on the website later this week when we have the most up to data and we will be sharing details of which tier your area is going to be in.

“I should warn you now that many more places will be in higher tiers than alas was previously the case and we will simultaneously be using the new and exciting possibilities of community testing – as they have done in Liverpool.”

READ MORE: Boris Johnson warns ‘folks, tier system will be tough

The tiers were announced after Government figures showed a further 696 people died within

28 days of testing positive for Covid-19 as of Wednesday, with the UK total now standing at 56,533.

A further 18,213 lab-confirmed cases of coronavirus were also reported on Wednesday.

Since the outbreak began, a total of 1,557,007 cases have been confirmed across the UK.

In total, 209,876 patients with coronavirus have been admitted to hospital, with 16,570 currently in hospital.

In the UK, a total of 56,533 people have died within 28 days of a COVID-19 positive test result and 66,713 people have died with coronavirus on the death certificate.

READ MORE: Which areas are likely to be tier 3?

What do tier restrictions mean for you?

If your region was classified as Tier 1 areas this means it is an area of high risk with the following rules in effect:

  • Rule of six must be observed indoors and outdoors
  • Covid-secure businesses and venues can remain open
  • Hospitality venues are open, but must only offer table serve and close at 11pm with last orders at 10pm
  • Public attendance at outdoor and indoor events can happen but numbers must be limited
  • Places of worship remain open
  • Weddings and funerals can proceed with a limit on numbers

If your region was classified as Tier 2 areas this means it is an area of high risk with the following rules in effect:

  • No household mixing indoors permitted
  • Rule of six applies outdoors
  • Pubs and restaurants must shut at 11pm
  • Alcohol can only be served as part of a substantial meal
  • Spectators in limited numbers are allowed at sports events and live performances.
  • Personal care including hairdressing is permitted.

If your region was classified as Tier 3 areas this means it is an area of high risk with the following rules in effect:

  • No household mixing is permitted indoors or outdoors in hospitality venues or private gardens.
  • The rule of six applies in outdoor public spaces like parks.
  • Pubs or restaurants closed except for delivery and takeaway.
  • Indoor entertainment venues will be closed.
  • Guidance against travelling in and out of the area.
  • Personal care including hairdressing is permitted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

I spent £17k on boob jobs to boost my confidence, but implants left me so sick I thought I’d die & now I can’t have kids

Next Story

'Easy to understand qualms' about Zara and Mike Tindall's wedding expressed by family

Latest from Blog